top of page

Dear Little American Muslim Girls

Dear little American Muslim girls,


The dichotomy of the western and eastern world is not so clear-cut to the average eye. We see the world for its fruits and failures. We speak magenta in black and white conversations. We are not monolithic. Our religion is a gift of perspective. However perspective is a double-edged sword. You can’t throw away perspective, even if other people have conflicting opinions on your point of view.

For a long time, the word terrorist’ was often used synonymously with Muslim. The word terrorist, by the Oxford dictionary, means, “ ​the use of violent action in order to achieve political aims or to force a government to act.” This is probably why I was so confused when that strange word targeted me in middle school. I didn’t know what to do with the word. This word was a virus, contaminating my identity. I had never used violent action to achieve political aims. I actually had not used any action to achieve political aims. I was twelve.


So I laughed the virus off, kept my gaze low, and did my math homework. Ignoring cruel words from children who had been fed bigotry by a crackling T.V or an uneducated parent. Looking back, like all phobias, the rampant islamophobia plaguing my sweaty middle school peers was built on ignorance. Ignorance of the Costco pizza and juice boxes brought to the mosque before prayer. Or the petting zoos to celebrate summer commencing after the end of Sunday school. The kids who asked me if I was going to bomb something didn’t realize I exist outside of their worldview. That I and every Muslim person out there are humans who have likes and dislikes. Our religion is a piece that fits into a more giant, unique puzzle of our individual humanities. The people who condemn our morality because we follow a different belief system have no idea that Pete Davidson's love life shocks us too.


Consider this a blessing and curse. There is no right way to be, just the way that gives you peace. You can’t flip life like a coin. Your two options aren’t “western” or “incorrect”. We understand that because we have integrated into a pompous society that has strict rules on how to live the American dream. But through navigating a world with so many beautiful cultures and so many idiots who couldn’t define culture, I have discarded some of my ignorance. I now know the dream doesn’t have to be American.


So the next time a middle school boy with ugly green khakis tries to bully you, remind yourself that his words are ignorant and therefore worthless. If he had come to your Mosque’s pizza party, he’d only have nice things to say. Also, tell a teacher.


Sincerely,


A -not so little anymore- American Muslim Girl


207 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page